Looking for food that is gluten-free? Vegan? Halal? We’ve developed an easy way to find food options that meet your dietary needs! Look for the following six icons in all of our dining hall locations:


Identifies menu items that fit a Lacto-Ovo vegetarian diet.

Excludes: all meat, fish, and poultry
Includes: eggs, milk, dairy, honey



Identifies foods made from plant-based food items only.

All vegan dishes are made without Eggs, Honey, Milk & Dairy, or any other animal-derived ingredients.


No Gluten

Identifies menu items that are made without gluten ingredients.*

*Please note: cross-contamination with wheat and other allergens may occur during preparation.



Identifies single ingredients or recipes that only contain:

Halal certified proteins
Halal permitted foods
Excludes all Haram products
Third-party certification is available


Sustainable Seafood

Seafood ingredients that are certified as sustainably sourced by the Marine Stewardship Council, Ocean Wise or other, third-party, recognized certification organization


Locally Grown

Identifies menu Items that have primary ingredients that are sourced from within Atlantic Canada, and within Nova Scotia when possible.


No Dairy

Identifies items made without milk ingredients to assist those avoiding dairy in their diet.*

*Please note: cross-contamination with dairy and other allergens may occur during preparation.